S. Young Chairs Finance, S. Little Chairs Housing

NYS Senator Flanagan, Republican from Long Island, is now the new Majority Leader in the Senate.  Session began with new committee assignments.  Senator DeFrancisco, former chair of Senate Finance,  is now deputy GOP conference leader, replacing Senator Libous.
Senator Catherine Young, who for years chaired the Housing, Construction and Community Development Committee will now serve as Chair of Senate Finance, replacing Senator DeFrancisco.
Press release: ALBANY – Senator Catharine Young (R,C,I- 57th District) has been appointed to a top leadership post as Senate Majority Finance Committee Chair.
“I am honored and humbled to become the first woman to serve as Senate Majority Finance Chair in state history. It is exciting because of what this appointment means for the people in my Senate district and all of Western New York. It gives our entire region tremendous clout and a strong voice in state budget matters and policy decisions. My goal is to deliver more attention and resources to our part of the state to address the unique needs of our economy, schools, and infrastructure. We must ensure that all of Western New York shares in economic prosperity and that we have good-paying jobs and opportunities. All of our children need and deserve to have the best education possible and we need to secure our fair share of funding for our schools. Our crumbling roads and bridges need repairs and our aging water and sewer systems desperately need upgrades. Our hardworking, overburdened taxpayers need more tax relief. There’s a lot of work to get done and I’m ready and raring to get started,” she said…   As Chair, Senator Young will lead hearings to conduct a thorough review of Governor Cuomo’s Executive Budget Proposal. Other responsibilities include reviewing the governor’s nominations for various positions.”
The new Chair of the Senate Housing Committee is Senator Betty Little, who has been a strong supporter of affordable housing and RPCs in her district. Senators Avella, Bonacic, Boyle, Gallivan and Young also serve on the Senate Housing Committee.
Senator Ritchie will be chairing both  Agriculture and Rural Resources Committees with Senators Akshar, O’Mara and Velesky on the Rural Resources Committee.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s